Skip to main content
Wouter Plattel

As a hematologist I am always looking for new development that might improve patient care. My main research focus is on patients with Hodgkin lymphoma and multiple myeloma. I am involved in both translational and clinical studies. In cooperation with the Pathology, I am active in the field of biomarkers, such as TARC in Hodgkin lymphoma. For the design, development and execution of clinical trials, I am an active member of both international (EORTC) and national (HOVON) organizations. For example, I am the national PI of the EORTC COBRA trial in Hodgkin lymphoma. Moreover, I am co-PI of the translational research in two international trials. In addition, I am part of the Dutch guideline writing committee for Hodgkin lymphoma. In myeloma, I am investigating innovative treatment options to improve outcome.

The Role of MicroRNAs in Hodgkin’s Lymphoma
Published in: MicroRNAs in Medicine
In this chapter, we summarize the current knowledge on microRNA (miRNA) expression, function and putative clinical value in Hodgkin’s lymphoma (HL). HL is the second most common lymphoma subtype, and mainly affects young adults or elderly. Malignant cells in HL are scarce, usually less than 1%, and these cells are of B-cell origin. As miRNAs are involved in almost all known biological processes, deregulation of miRNAs is thought to play an important role in the pathogenesis of HL. MiRNA expression studies have been performed on HL cell lines,...
Expression of the c-Met oncogene by tumor cells predicts a favorable outcome in classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma
Published in: Haematologica
BACKGROUND: The c-Met signaling pathway regulates a variety of biological processes, including proliferation, survival and migration. Deregulated c-Met activation has been implicated in the pathogenesis and prognosis of many human malignancies. We studied the function and prognostic significance of c-Met and hepatocyte growth factor protein expression in patients with classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma. DESIGN AND METHODS: Expression of c-Met and its ligand, hepatocyte growth factor, were determined by immunohistochemistry. Prognostic values were defined in cohorts of German and Dutch patients with classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Functional studies were performed on...
Chuanhui Xu, Wouter Plattel, Anke van den Berg, Nele Ruether, Xin Huang, Miao Wang, Debora de Jong, Hans Vos, Gustaaf van Imhoff, Andreas Viardot, Peter Moeller, Sibrand Poppema, Arjan Diepstra, Lydia Visser
Plasma thymus and activation-regulated chemokine as an early response marker in classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma
Published in: Haematologica
BACKGROUND: Plasma thymus and activation-regulated chemokine is a potential biomarker for classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma. To define its value as a marker to monitor treatment response, we correlated serial plasma thymus and activation-regulated chemokine levels with clinical response in newly diagnosed and relapsed classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma patients. DESIGN AND METHODS: Plasma was collected from 60 (39 early stage and 21 advanced stage) newly diagnosed classical Hodgkin’s lymphoma patients before, during, and after treatment, and from 12 relapsed patients before and after treatment. Plasma thymus and activation-regulated chemokine levels were...
Prognostic value of comorbidity for auto-SCT eligibility and outcome in relapsed or refractory aggressive non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma
Published in: Bone marrow transplantation
Salvage reinduction therapy followed by high-dose chemotherapy (HDCT) and auto-SCT is the treatment of choice for fit patients with refractory or relapsed aggressive non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL). We assessed the prognostic value of comorbidity at the time of relapse to predict receipt of auto-SCT and outcome. We analyzed 156 consecutive NHL patients, referred to our center between 1999 and 2007 for salvage reinduction therapy, followed by HDCT and auto-SCT. Comorbidity according to the hematopoietic SCT comorbidity index was scored at relapse and directly before HDCT and auto-SCT. Primary end...
C. Xu, A. van den Berg, W. Plattel, N. Ruether, X. Huang, M. Wang, D. de Jong, H. Vos, G. van Imhoff, A. Viardot, P. Moeller, S. Poppema, A. Diepstra, L. Visser