Skip to main content
Anke van den Berg
prof. dr.

I work as a clinical molecular biologist in the department of Pathology. In this function I supervise and implement advanced molecular diagnostic techniques. Within my research line, I focus on the molecular pathogenesis of B-cell Hodgkin and non-Hodgkin lymphoma. The specific fields of interest are genomic aberrations, genetic susceptibility, and the role of small and long noncoding RNAs. I have several international collaborations and am PI and co-PI in various projects.

Proliferation-promoting roles of linear and circular PVT1 are independent of their ability to bind miRNAs in B-cell lymphoma
Published in: International Journal of Biological Macromolecules
Plasmacytoma Variant Translocation 1 (PVT1) is a long non-coding RNA located at 8q24.21 immediately downstream of MYC. Both the linear and circular PVT1 transcripts contribute to cancer pathogenesis by binding microRNAs. However, little is known about their roles in B-cell lymphoma. Here we studied their expression patterns, role in growth, and ability to bind miRNAs in B-cell lymphoma. Linear PVT1 transcripts were downregulated in B-cell cell lymphoma lines compared to germinal center B cells, while circPVT1 levels were increased. Two Hodgkin lymphoma cell lines had a homozygous deletion...
Xing Zhao, Anke van den Berg, Melanie Winkle, Jasper Koerts, Annika Seitz, Debora de Jong, Bea Rutgers, Tineke van der Sluis, Emke Bakker, Joost Kluiver
Correction: Distinct germline genetic susceptibility profiles identified for common non-Hodgkin lymphoma subtypes
Published in: Leukemia
Sonja I Berndt, Joseph Vijai, Yolanda Benavente, Nicola J Camp, Alexandra Nieters, Zhaoming Wang, Karin E Smedby, Geffen Kleinstern, Henrik Hjalgrim, Caroline Besson, Christine F Skibola, Lindsay M Morton, Angela R Brooks-Wilson, Lauren R Teras, Charles Breeze, Joshua Arias, Hans-Olov Adami, Demetrius Albanes, Kenneth C Anderson, Stephen M AnsellBryan Bassig, Nikolaus Becker, Parveen Bhatti, Brenda M Birmann, Paolo Boffetta, Paige M Bracci, Paul Brennan, Elizabeth E Brown, Laurie Burdett, Lisa A Cannon-Albright, Ellen T Chang, Brian C H Chiu, Charles C Chung, Jacqueline Clavel, Pierluigi Cocco, Graham Colditz, Lucia Conde, David V Conti, David G Cox, Karen Curtin, Delphine Casabonne, Immaculata De Vivo, Arjan Diepstra, W Ryan Diver, Ahmet Dogan, Christopher K Edlund, Lenka Foretova, Joseph F Fraumeni, Attilio Gabbas, Hervé Ghesquières, Graham G Giles, Sally Glaser, Martha Glenn, Bengt Glimelius, Jian Gu, Thomas M Habermann, Christopher A Haiman, Corinne Haioun, Jonathan N Hofmann, Theodore R Holford, Elizabeth A Holly, Amy Hutchinson, Aalin Izhar, Rebecca D Jackson, Ruth F Jarrett, Rudolph Kaaks, Eleanor Kane, Laurence N Kolonel, Yinfei Kong, Peter Kraft, Anne Kricker, Annette Lake, Qing Lan, Charles Lawrence, Dalin Li, Mark Liebow, Brian K Link, Corrado Magnani, Marc Maynadie, James McKay, Mads Melbye, Lucia Miligi, Roger L Milne, Thierry J Molina, Alain Monnereau, Rebecca Montalvan, Kari E North, Anne J Novak, Kenan Onel, Mark P Purdue, Kristin A Rand, Elio Riboli, Jacques Riby, Eve Roman, Gilles Salles, Douglas W Sborov, Richard K Severson, Tait D Shanafelt, Martyn T Smith, Alexandra Smith, Kevin W Song, Lei Song, Melissa C Southey, John J Spinelli, Anthony Staines, Deborah Stephens, Heather J Sutherland, Kaitlyn Tkachuk, Carrie A Thompson, Hervé Tilly, Lesley F Tinker, Ruth C Travis, Jenny Turner, Celine M Vachon, Claire M Vajdic, Anke Van Den Berg, David J Van Den Berg, Roel C H Vermeulen, Paolo Vineis, Sophia S Wang, Elisabete Weiderpass, George J Weiner, Stephanie Weinstein, Nicole Wong Doo, Yuanqing Ye, Meredith Yeager, Kai Yu, Anne Zeleniuch-Jacquotte, Yawei Zhang, Tongzhang Zheng, Elad Ziv, Joshua Sampson, Nilanjan Chatterjee, Kenneth Offit, Wendy Cozen, Xifeng Wu, James R Cerhan, Stephen J Chanock, Susan L Slager, Nathaniel Rothman
A population-based study of transformed marginal zone lymphoma: identifying outcome-related characteristics
Published in: Blood cancer journal
Histological transformation of marginal zone lymphoma (tMZL) into diffuse large B-cell lymphoma is associated with poor outcomes. Clinical characteristics associated with transformation risk and outcome after transformation are largely unknown due to scarcity of data. In this population-based study, competing risk analyses were performed to elucidate clinical characteristics associated with developing transformation among 1793 MZL patients using the Netherlands Cancer Registry. Cox regression analyses were performed to elucidate clinical characteristics associated with risk of relapse and mortality after transformation. Transformation occurred in 75 (4%) out of 1793 MZL...
Johanna A A Bult, Francien Huisman, Yujie Zhong, Nick Veltmaat, Joost Kluiver, Sanne H Tonino, Joost S P Vermaat, Martine E D Chamuleau, Arjan Diepstra, Anke van den Berg, Wouter J Plattel, Mirian Brink, Marcel Nijland
CRISPR/Cas9 screen for genome-wide interrogation of essential MYC-bound E-boxes in cancer cells
Published in: Molecular oncology
The transcription factor MYC is a proto-oncogene with a well-documented essential role in the pathogenesis and maintenance of several types of cancer. MYC binds to specific E-box sequences in the genome to regulate gene expression in a cell-type- and developmental-stage-specific manner. To date, a combined analysis of essential MYC-bound E-boxes and their downstream target genes important for growth of different types of cancer is missing. In this study, we designed a CRISPR/Cas9 library to destroy E-box sequences in a genome-wide fashion. In parallel, we used the Brunello library...
Marta Kazimierska, Marta Podralska, Magdalena Żurawek, Tomasz Woźniak, Marta Elżbieta Kasprzyk, Weronika Sura, Wojciech Łosiewski, Iwona Ziółkowska-Suchanek, Joost Kluiver, Anke van den Berg, Natalia Rozwadowska, Agnieszka Dzikiewicz-Krawczyk
Long non-coding RNAs associated with transcriptomic signatures and treatment outcome in diffuse large B-cell lymphoma
Published in: British Journal of Haematology
Gerben Duns, Melanie Winkle, Lauren Chong, Daisuke Ennishi, Ryan D Morin, Arjan Diepstra, David W Scott, Joost L Kluiver, Christian Steidl, Anke van den Berg